January 25, 2021
Breaking News

The BWAA proclaims its 2020 Award Nominations

The BWAA declares its 2020 Award Nominations

Lopez and his team had been buried in belts following the victory. (picture by means of Mikey Williams/good Rank by means of Getty images)
through Joseph Santoliquito

This changed into a strange and particular year in boxing, on the grounds that the COVID-19 pandemic and the limitations placed on the recreation and during the area.

Boxing nonetheless went on. Fights took region, and a few big ones, featuring notable comebacks and fabulous finishes.

On Monday, the Boxing Writers association of the united states (BWAA), which has been in existence for ninety four years and selects the best of the surest in boxing each year, launched its award nominees for 2020.

The BWAA can be combining its awards ceremony for 2020 and 2021 together, to be able to make it the biggest awards gala in the long heritage of the corporation. on account of the truncated boxing year, the firm will most effective existing six awards for 2020.

The BWAA already named Katie Taylor as its 2020 female Fighter of the 12 months for a 2nd-consecutive year, a difference she also shares as the Ring’s two-time female Fighter of the yr.

So, below are the nominees for the 5 remaining categories. handiest full BWAA members are authorised to vote.

in keeping with their signature victories of 2020, Tyson Fury and Teofimo Lopez Jr. appropriate the list of nominees for the Sugar Ray Robinson Award for BWAA Fighter of The yr. Canelo Alvarez, The Ring and BWAA’s No. 1 pound-for-pound fighter, is additionally protected on the BWAA pollafter his domination over Callum Smith. Fury and Lopez Jr. shared the Fighter of the 12 months award for The Ring.

The Muhammad Ali – Joe Frazier Award for the BWAA fight of the 12 months includes Carlos Gongora-Ali Akhmedov, Juan Francisco Estrada-Carlos Cuadras II, Masayoshi Nakatani-Felix Verdejo and the traditional between Jose Zepeda-Ivan Baranchyk, which turned into The Ring’s 2020 fight of the yr preference.

The BWAA award winners will be announced Friday, January 22, 2021, and are voted on through due-paying full BWAA contributors.

BWAA 2020 Award Nominees for:

Sugar Ray Robinson Award Fighter of The year 2020

Canelo Alvarez

Gervonta Davis

Tyson Fury

Teofimo Lopez Jr.

Errol Spence Jr.

Joe Smith Jr.

Muhammad Ali – Joe Frazier Award battle of the year 2020

Gervonta Davis-Leo Santa Cruz

Carlos Gongora-Ali Akhmedov

Juan Francisco Estrada-Carlos Cuadras II

Masayoshi Nakatani-Felix Verdejo

Alexander Povetkin-Dillian Whyte

Jose Zepeda-Ivan Baranchyk

Eddie Futch Award trainer of the year 2020

Robert Garcia

Sugar Hill

Derrick James

Teofimo Lopez Sr.

Eddy Reynoso

Cus D’Amato Award supervisor of the yr 2020

Keith Connolly

Peter Kahn

David McWater

Rick Mirigian

Eddy Reynoso

John McCain-invoice Crawford courage Award 2020

Magomed Abdusalamov household

Mark Breland

Pritchard Colon

Derrick James

Jose Santa Cruz

Joseph Santoliquito is an award-successful sportswriter who has been working for Ring magazine/RingTV.com given that October 1997 and is the president of the Boxing Writers association of america. He may also be followed on twitter @JSantoliquito.

GET THE latest problem on the RING shop (click here) or Subscribe

Latest Issue Cover